ALJOSCHA_peak_experience_V18_LR1.jpg

Life and Work

Aljoscha © Aljoscha

In his drawings, sculptures, and installations, Aljoscha addresses topics such as biology and the theory of life, as well as bioism, which serves as a utopian model for new forms of life or living beings, but also with the great philosophical and scientific questions about life itself. He says: »I regard art as one of the highest human activities. For me, it represents a philosophy, perhaps even a religion. In this sense, I try to create an aesthetic utopia.«1

His filigree, futuristic-looking acrylic objects and installations made of pigmented acrylic glass have both a sculptural and painterly quality. Drawing and painting play an essential role at the beginning of his artistic process. His experiments with painting and color are the starting point for his three-dimensional works. The material’s transparency and fragility and the form’s ephemeral nature have been deliberately chosen as their floating state evokes mobility and dynamism. Inspired by the organic form of our microcosm, the artist, who is at the same time a scientist, works to create new connections rooted in infinity, indescribability, and unfamiliarity. He is just as interested in the inner appearance, which radiates »bio-futuristic sublimity and bliss«, as he is in the outer one, whereby the seemingly arbitrary stringing together of individual sculptures turns a larger whole into an organism.

The small sculptures—seemingly biological or organic objects—at times recall the filigree structure of corals, an aesthetic that can only be found in nature. Aljoscha creates new worlds with his unique formal language, while raising questions about the individual, their freedom, and broader social processes from a bio-ethical perspective.

The exhibition title »peak experience« is a logical continuation of the themes of the installation »A Biology of Happiness«, which was realized at the Kunstraum Dornbirn in 2017. This term comes from biological studies of human emotions and unique life experiences, where euphoria and exuberance, eudaimonia and joie de vivre, as well as idealism, play a central role. These terms are all linked with bio-futuristic visual experiences in an aesthetic sense.

Aljoscha, born 1974 as Aleksey Alekseevich Potupin in Glukhov, Ukraine, was a guest student at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf with Prof. Konrad Klapheck from 2001 to 2002 and studied with Shirin Neshat at the Internationale Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst Salzburg in 2006. In 2008 he received the 1st prize in sculpture at the XXXV. Premio Bancaja, Valencia, Spain and in 2009 the sculpture prize »Schlosspark 2009« in Cologne. In 2010, he realized the installation project »bioism uprooting populus«, which was sponsored by the Karin Abt-Straubinger Stiftung in Stuttgart. In November 2018, Aljosha represented the Ukraine in the »1914/1918 – Not Then, Not Now, Not Ever« at the German Bundestag, which commemorated the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I. His works are represented in numerous private collections and museums, including the Erarta Museum of Contemporary Art in St. Petersburg, the Kupferstichkabinett Berlin, and the State Museum of Contemporary Art in Thessaloniki.

The artist has lived and worked in Düsseldorf since 2003.

1 http://salve-magazine.de/aljoscha/

Biography

1974 born in Glukhov, UA
2001/02 Guest student at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, DE, with Prof. Konrad Klapheck
2006 International Summer Academy of Fine Arts Salzburg, AT, in the class Shirin Neshat and Shoja Azari
lives and works in Duesseldorf, DE

Prizes and Awards

2008 1. Preis für Skulptur – XXXV Premio Bancaja de Escultura, Fundación Bancaja, Valencia, ES

Works (Selection)

Aljoscha, bject 380, 2022
Aljoscha, bject 380, 2022
Aljoscha, object 379, 2022
Aljoscha, object 379, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #29, 2017
Aljoscha, p-landscape #29, 2017
Aljoscha, p-landscape #37, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #37, 2020
Aljoscha, Invincible Happiness Not Just For Humans, But For All Sentient Life I, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #41, 2020
Aljoscha, Invincible Happiness Not Just For Humans, But For All Sentient Life II, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #38, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #39, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #45, 2021
Aljoscha, p-landscape #46, 2021
Aljoscha, p-landscape #47, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #48, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #49, 2022
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, 2021
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, no. 2, 2021
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, no. 6, 2021
Aljoscha, Bioethical Transsubstatiation II (TEFAF New York 2019), 2019
Aljoscha, Miraculous Draught (St. John the Divine, New York City, 2020/2021), 2020
Aljoscha, object 246, 2017
Aljoscha, object 216, 2015, © Aljoscha
Aljoscha, drawing to object 10, 2005
Aljoscha, drawing to object 14, 2005
Aljoscha, object 194, 2014
Aljoscha, object 25, 2006
Aljoscha, object 41, 2007
Aljoscha, object 62 / bronze 06, 2008

Videos

16 March 2022 / © Aljoscha

Solo exhibitions (selection)

0

Group exhibitions (selection)

2005 ArToll Kunstlabor, Bedburg-Hau, DE

EXHIBITIONS AT BECK & EGGELING (SELECTION)

Publications

Aljoscha. B-Meetings 2009–2012

Aljoscha. B-Meetings 2009–2012

  • Artist: Aljoscha
    Editor: Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag
    Text: Georg Elben
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Linda Inconi)
  • English, German
    Hardcover, 28 x 21 cm
    48 pages, 62 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2012
    ISBN 978-3-93091976-5
  • 20 €
Order More
Aljoscha. Objects

Aljoscha. Objects

  • Artist: Aljoscha
    Editor: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: Antonia Lehmann-Tolkmitt
  • English, German
    Hardcover, 28,5 x 22,2 cm
    67 pages, 66 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2008
    ISBN 978-3-93091952-9
  • 25 €
Order
Further publications

bibliography

Aljoscha, Eine Biologie des Glücks, hg. von Thomas Häusle (Ausst.-Kat. Kunstraum Dornbirn), Dornbirn 2018
Aljoscha, A Biology Of Happiness, hg. von Thomas Häusle (Ausst.-Kat. Kunstraum Dornbirn), Dornbirn 2018
Aljoscha, The Gates Of The Sun And The Land Of Dreams, 2017

News

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

ALJOSCHA_peak_experience_V18_LR1.jpg

Leben und Werk

Aljoscha © Aljoscha

Aljoscha beschäftigt sich in seinen Zeichnungen, Skulpturen und Installationen mit Themen wie der Biologie und der Lehre des Lebens sowie des Bioismus, der als utopisches Modell von neuartig erdachten Lebensformen bzw. Lebewesen dient, aber auch mit den großen philosophischen und wissenschaftlichen Fragen zum Leben an sich. So sagt er: »Ich betrachte die Kunst als eine der höchsten humanen Tätigkeiten. Sie stellt für mich eine Philosophie dar, vielleicht sogar eine Religion. In diesem Sinne versuche ich eine ästhetische Utopie zu schaffen.«

Seine filigran, futuristisch anmutenden Acrylobjekte sowie Installationen aus farbig pigmentierten Acrylglas haben skulpturalen wie malerischen Charakter. Dabei spielt die Zeichnung und Malerei, eine wesentliche Rolle, die am Beginn seines künstlerischen Arbeitsprozesses stehen. Erst das Experimentieren mit der Malerei bzw. der Farbe haben ihn in die Dreidimensionalität geführt. Die Transparenz und Fragilität des Materials sowie das ephemere der Form ist bewusst gewählt, denn durch seinen schwebenden Zustand wird Beweglichkeit und Dynamik evoziert. Inspiriert von der organischen Form unseres Mikrokosmos möchte der Künstler, der gleichzeitig Wissenschaftler ist, neue Zusammenhänge schaffen, die in Unendlichkeit, Unbeschreiblichkeit und Unbekanntheit wurzeln. Das innere Erscheinungsbild, das »biofuturistische Erhabenheit und Glückseligkeit« ausstrahlt, interessiert ihn ebenso wie das äußere, wodurch scheinbar willkürliche Aneinanderreihung von einzelnen Skulpturen ein größeres ganzes zu einem Organismus wird.

Die kleinen Skulpturen, biologisch, organisch anmutenden Objekte erinnern zeitweise an die filigrane Beschaffenheit von Korallen bzw. an eine Ästhetik, wie sie nur in der Natur vorzufinden sind. Aljoscha kreiert mit seiner ganz individuellen Formensprache neue Welten und stellt dabei Fragen, die das Individuum und seine Freiheit betreffen und hinterfragt gleichzeitig die gesellschaftlichen Prozesse aus bioethischer Sicht.

Ausstellungstitel wie »peak experience« sind eine logische Fortsetzung des Themas der Installation »Eine Biologie des Glücks« von 2017, welche im Kunstraum Dornbirn verwirklicht wurde. Dieser Begriff stammt aus biologischen Studien über die menschlichen Hochgefühle und einzigartigen Lebenserfahrungen, wo die Euphorie und der Gefühlsüberschwang, Eudämonie und Daseinsfreude sowie der Idealismus eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Diese Begriffe, welche im ästhetischen Sinne mit biofuturistischen visuellen Erfahrungen verknüpft sind.

Aljoscha, 1974 als Aleksey Alekseevich Potupin in Glukhov in der Ukraine geboren, war von 2001 bis 2002 Gasthörer an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf bei Prof. Konrad Klapheck und studierte 2006 auf der internationalen Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst in Salzburg bei Shirin Neshat. 2008 erhielt er den 1. Preis in Skulptur auf der XXXV. Premio Bancaja, Valencia, Spanien und 2009 den Skulpturpreis »Schlosspark 2009« in Köln. Im Jahr 2010 findet das Installationsprojekt »bioism uprooting populus« statt, welches durch die Karin Abt-Straubinger Stiftung in Stuttgart gefördert wurde. Im November 2018 vertritt Aljoscha in der Ausstellung »1914/1918 – Not Then, Not Now, Not Ever« im Deutschen Bundestag, welche zum 100. Mal an das Ende des 1. Weltkrieges erinnern soll, die Ukraine. Seine Werke sind in zahlreichen Privatsammlungen und Museen vertreten, darunter im Erarta Museum of Contemporary Art in St. Petersburg, im Kupferstichkabinett Berlin sowie im State Museum of contemporary Art in Thessaloniki.

Der Künstler lebt und arbeitet seit 2003 in Düsseldorf.

Biografie

1974 geboren in Glukhov, UA
2001/02 Gasthörer an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, DE, bei Prof. Konrad Klapheck
2006 Internationale Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst Salzburg, AT, in der Klasse Shirin Neshat und Shoja Azari
lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf, DE

Preise und Auszeichnungen

2008 1. Preis für Skulptur – XXXV Premio Bancaja de Escultura, Fundación Bancaja, Valencia, ES

Werke (Auswahl)

Aljoscha, object 380, 2022
Aljoscha, object 380, 2022
Aljoscha, object 379, 2022
Aljoscha, object 379, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #29, 2017
Aljoscha, p-landscape #29, 2017
Aljoscha, p-landscape #37, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #37, 2020
Aljoscha, Invincible Happiness Not Just For Humans, But For All Sentient Life I, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #41, 2020
Aljoscha, Invincible Happiness Not Just For Humans, But For All Sentient Life II, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #38, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #39, 2020
Aljoscha, p-landscape #45, 2021
Aljoscha, p-landscape #46, 2021
Aljoscha, p-landscape #47, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #48, 2022
Aljoscha, p-landscape #49, 2022
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, 2021
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, Nr. 2, 2021
Aljoscha, Urpflanze II, Nr. 6, 2021
Aljoscha, Bioethical Transsubstatiation II (TEFAF New York 2019), 2019
Aljoscha, Miraculous Draught (St. John the Divine, New York City, 2020/2021), 2020
Aljoscha, object 246, 2017
Aljoscha, object 216, 2015, © Aljoscha
Aljoscha, drawing to object 10, 2005
Aljoscha, drawing to object 14, 2005
Aljoscha, object # 194, 2014
Aljoscha, object 25, 2006
Aljoscha, object 41, 2007
Aljoscha, object 62 / bronze 06, 2008

Videos

2022: Aljoscha vor »Mutter-Heimat« in Kiew

16. März 2022 / © Aljoscha

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl)

0

Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl)

2005 ArToll Kunstlabor, Bedburg-Hau, DE

AUSSTELLUNGEN BEI BECK & EGGELING (AUSWAHL)

Publikationen

Aljoscha. B-Meetings 2009–2012

Aljoscha. B-Meetings 2009–2012

  • Künstler: Aljoscha
    Herausgeber: Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag
    Text: Georg Elben
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Linda Inconi)
  • Englisch, Deutsch
    Hardcover, 28 x 21 cm
    48 Seiten, 62 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2012
    ISBN 978-3-93091976-5
  • 20 €
Bestellen Mehr
Aljoscha. Objects

Aljoscha. Objects

  • Künstler: Aljoscha
    Herausgeber: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: Antonia Lehmann-Tolkmitt
  • Englisch, Deutsch
    Hardcover, 28,5 x 22,2 cm
    67 Seiten, 66 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2008
    ISBN 978-3-93091952-9
  • 25 €
Bestellen
Weitere Publikationen

Bibliografie

Aljoscha, Eine Biologie des Glücks, hg. von Thomas Häusle (Ausst.-Kat. Kunstraum Dornbirn), Dornbirn 2018
Aljoscha, A Biology Of Happiness, hg. von Thomas Häusle (Ausst.-Kat. Kunstraum Dornbirn), Dornbirn 2018
Aljoscha, The Gates Of The Sun And The Land Of Dreams, 2017

News

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956