Thomas Wrede. Sceneries

At this year’s Duesseldorf Photo Weekend, Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art will present – following on the successful survey exhibition Thomas Wrede. Sceneries at the Von Der Heydt Kunsthalle in Wuppertal last year – a retrospective-leaning exhibition of Thomas Wrede’s works on the subject of landscape and nature, as well as new works.

Everything is a question of perspective. The realization that perspective influences perception, and ultimately our image of reality, is subtly reflected in Thomas Wrede’s photographs. Wrede creates new visual worlds that only exist through the photograph and in the photograph. In the interplay between staging and reality, truth and illusion, reality and fiction, these “illusory worlds” demand a growing awareness of what we see and how we see. His images break our habits of perception that are shaped by expectations. At the same time, the photograph’s claim to reality is challenged.

In his most famous series, »Real Landscapes«, Wrede constructs scenes that present themselves to the viewer as impressive landscape images. The photographs show a moment of supposedly familiar reality, seemingly reproduced without any artificiality or staging. At first glance, the places seem real. But the illusion in his images is never absolute and so disconcerting fractures suddenly appear. The highly detailed miniature worlds of familiar architectural, street, and nature scenes seem strangely exposed in the real landscapes. This deception originates from blurring the boundaries of different levels of reality in the photo. The generally panoramic view evokes associations with Romantic painted landscapes.

Wrede reflects a longing for nature in his various series of works while asking questions about its representation in the media and its portrayal. In the series »WrappedLandscapes«, thes...

Everything is a question of perspective. The realization that perspective influences perception, and ultimately our image of reality, is subtly reflected in Thomas Wrede’s photographs. Wrede creates new visual worlds that only exist through the photograph and in the photograph. In the interplay between staging and reality, truth and illusion, reality and fiction, these “illusory worlds” demand a growing awareness of what we see and how we see. His images break our habits of perception that are shaped by expectations. At the same time, the photograph’s claim to reality is challenged.

In his most famous series, »Real Landscapes«, Wrede constructs scenes that present themselves to the viewer as impressive landscape images. The photographs show a moment of supposedly familiar reality, seemingly reproduced without any artificiality or staging. At first glance, the places seem real. But the illusion in his images is never absolute and so disconcerting fractures suddenly appear. The highly detailed miniature worlds of familiar architectural, street, and nature scenes seem strangely exposed in the real landscapes. This deception originates from blurring the boundaries of different levels of reality in the photo. The generally panoramic view evokes associations with Romantic painted landscapes.

Wrede reflects a longing for nature in his various series of works while asking questions about its representation in the media and its portrayal. In the series »Wrapped Landscapes«, these images of longing can be found in photographs of model railway trees, photographed inside their packaging in front of landscape backgrounds, as they are usually presented in model train accessory packs. The artist thus creates original picture-in-picture compositions, wondrous landscapes whose artificiality cannot be concealed.

Complex spaces are also created using the picture-in-picture technique in his series »Domestic Landcapes«. Wrede photographed photographic wallpaper that used to be very common in German homes. The supposed outdoor views combine with the interior spaces and their furniture in an idiosyncratic way to create a new image overall.

Finally, the images in the »Seascapes« series show real beach scenes. With a view into the distance and the endless expanse of the beaches, these panoramic pictures reflect the aesthetics of the sublime. At the same time they irritate us. People suddenly seem miniature in the virtually boundless natural space.

Reality or scenery? Thomas Wrede’s works show how reality and fiction can be merged. The magic of his photographs is due to a skillful interplay of perspective, light, and technical perfection.

Special Opening Hours
Duesseldorf Photo Weekend:
08.03., Fri: 6–10pm
09.03., Sat: 12am–8pm
10.03., Sun: 12am–6pm

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

Thomas Wrede. Sceneries

Zum diesjährigen Duesseldorf Photo Weekend zeigt Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art – anknüpfend an die erfolgreiche Überblicksausstellung »Thomas Wrede. Sceneries« in der Von der Heydt-Kunsthalle in Wuppertal letztes Jahr – eine retrospektiv angelehnte Ausstellung mit Thomas Wredes Arbeiten zum Thema Landschaft und Natur sowie neuen Arbeiten.

Alles eine Frage der Perspektive. Die Erkenntnis, dass die Perspektive die Wahrnehmung und letztlich unser Bild von der Realität beeinflusst, spiegelt sich auf subtile Weise in den Fotografien von Thomas Wrede wider. Wrede schafft neue Bildwelten, die nur durch die Fotografie und in der Fotografie existieren. Im Spannungsfeld von Inszenierung und Wirklichkeit, von Wahrheit und Illusion, Realität und Fiktion fordern diese „Scheinwelten“ eine Bewusstwerdung darüber, was wir sehen und wie wir sehen. Seiner Bilder brechen unsere von Erwartungen geprägten Wahrnehmungsgewohnheiten. Zugleich wird der Wirklichkeitsanspruch der Fotografie hinterfragt.

In seiner bekanntesten Serie »Real Landscapes« konstruiert Wrede Szenerien, die sich dem Betrachter als eindrucksvolle Landschaftsaufnahmen präsentieren. Die Fotografien zeigen einen Moment vermeintlich vertrauter Wirklichkeit, scheinbar wiedergegeben ohne jede Künstlichkeit oder Inszenierung. Die Orte wirken auf den ersten Blick real. Doch die Illusion in seinen Bildern ist nie vollkommen, und so tauchen plötzlich irritierende Brüche auf. Seltsam exponiert wirken die detailliert gestalteten Miniaturwelten vertrauter Architektur-, Straßen- und Naturszenerien in den realen Landschaftsräumen. Die Täuschung entsteht hier durch das Verwischen der Grenzen von verschiedenen Wirklichkeitsebenen in der Fotografie. Der zumeist panoramatische Blick weckt Assoziationen an Landschaften der romantischen Malerei.

In seinenverschiedenen Werkseri...

Alles eine Frage der Perspektive. Die Erkenntnis, dass die Perspektive die Wahrnehmung und letztlich unser Bild von der Realität beeinflusst, spiegelt sich auf subtile Weise in den Fotografien von Thomas Wrede wider. Wrede schafft neue Bildwelten, die nur durch die Fotografie und in der Fotografie existieren. Im Spannungsfeld von Inszenierung und Wirklichkeit, von Wahrheit und Illusion, Realität und Fiktion fordern diese „Scheinwelten“ eine Bewusstwerdung darüber, was wir sehen und wie wir sehen. Seiner Bilder brechen unsere von Erwartungen geprägten Wahrnehmungsgewohnheiten. Zugleich wird der Wirklichkeitsanspruch der Fotografie hinterfragt.

In seiner bekanntesten Serie »Real Landscapes« konstruiert Wrede Szenerien, die sich dem Betrachter als eindrucksvolle Landschaftsaufnahmen präsentieren. Die Fotografien zeigen einen Moment vermeintlich vertrauter Wirklichkeit, scheinbar wiedergegeben ohne jede Künstlichkeit oder Inszenierung. Die Orte wirken auf den ersten Blick real. Doch die Illusion in seinen Bildern ist nie vollkommen, und so tauchen plötzlich irritierende Brüche auf. Seltsam exponiert wirken die detailliert gestalteten Miniaturwelten vertrauter Architektur-, Straßen- und Naturszenerien in den realen Landschaftsräumen. Die Täuschung entsteht hier durch das Verwischen der Grenzen von verschiedenen Wirklichkeitsebenen in der Fotografie. Der zumeist panoramatische Blick weckt Assoziationen an Landschaften der romantischen Malerei.

In seinen verschiedenen Werkserien reflektiert Wrede die Sehnsucht nach der Natur und stellt gleichzeitig die Frage nach ihrer medialen Vermittlung und ihrem Abbild. In der Serie »Wrapped Landscapes« finden sich die Sehnsuchtsbilder in Fotografien von Modelleisenbahn-Bäumen, abgelichtet innerhalb ihrer Verpackungen vor Landschaftsfolien, wie sie gewöhnlich in Modellbahn-Zubehörpackungen präsentiert werden. So schafft der Künstler originelle Bild-im-Bild-Kompositionen, wundersame Landschaftsbilder, deren Künstlichkeit sich nicht verbergen lässt.

Durch das Bild im Bild entstehen auch in seiner Serie »Domestic Landcapes« vielschichtige Räume. Wrede fotografierte Fototapeten, die früher einmal sehr verbreitet waren, in deutschen Wohnungen. Auf eigenwillige Weise verbinden sich die vermeintlichen Außenansichten mit den Innenräumen und dessen Mobiliar zu einem neuen Gesamtbild.

Die Bilder der Serie »Seascapes« schließlich zeigen reale Strandszenen. Mit dem Blick in die Ferne und der endlosen Weite der Strände spiegeln diese Panoramabilder die Ästhetik des Erhabenen wider. Zugleich irritieren sie. Plötzlich wirken die Menschen wie Miniaturen in dem schier grenzenlosen Naturraum.

Wirklichkeit oder Kulisse? Wie sich Realität und Fiktion vermischen lassen, zeigen die Arbeiten von Thomas Wrede. Die Magie seiner Fotografien verdankt sich einem gekonnten Zusammenspiel von Perspektive, Licht und technischer Perfektion.


Duesseldorf Photo Weekend
Sonderöffnungszeiten:
08.03., Fr: 18–22 Uhr
09.03., Sa: 12–20 Uhr
10.03., So: 12–18 Uhr

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956