Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia Liquida

International Pioneer of video art in Düsseldorf

Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art is presenting the work of the international pioneer of video art, Fabrizio Plessi, for the first time at the Düsseldorf Photo Weekend 2017. The exhibition »Utopia Liquida«, with selected photographs from the 1970s, gives insight into Plessi's early creative phase in which he already began to develop water as the main theme of his art.

In numerous interventions, that at the time were cutting edge happenings and conceptual art, his fascination for the ancient element became a source of inspiration. It originated from the omnipresence of the water in his chosen home Venice. The photographs show document and reflect his artistic happenings; some of them were already shown at the Venice Biennale in 1978. These include Plessi cutting apart running water in a sink into a hundred equal parts with a pair of scissors (100 Pezzi D'Acqua, Azione 1973), in Paris he tried to put a hole in the Seine River (Un Buco N'ell Acqua, Azione 1973) and when he sawed the Stichter Lake by Neuenkirchen into equal halves (Segare Il Lago Stichter in due parti uguali, Azione 1975). In these absurd actions water is treated less like a natural element and more like a full-fledged aspect design element for the implementation of his imaginative ideas.

FABRIZIO PLESSI (born 1940 in Reggio Emilia, Italy) lives and works in Venice. Plessi has been repeatedly invited to the Venice Biennale. In 1970, he first took part in the Venice Biennale and in 1987, he also presented his monumental installation Roma at the Documenta 8. Over the last 40 years, he has created outstanding work that has been shown worldwide in important museums and institutions. Since 1977 these include, among others, the Guggenheim Museum SoHo in New York, the Center Georges Pompidou in Paris, the Fondazione Peggy Guggenheim in Venice, Folkwang Museum in Essen, Museo Gugg...

In numerous interventions, that at the time were cutting edge happenings and conceptual art, his fascination for the ancient element became a source of inspiration. It originated from the omnipresence of the water in his chosen home Venice. The photographs show document and reflect his artistic happenings; some of them were already shown at the Venice Biennale in 1978. These include Plessi cutting apart running water in a sink into a hundred equal parts with a pair of scissors (100 Pezzi D'Acqua, Azione 1973), in Paris he tried to put a hole in the Seine River (Un Buco N'ell Acqua, Azione 1973) and when he sawed the Stichter Lake by Neuenkirchen into equal halves (Segare Il Lago Stichter in due parti uguali, Azione 1975). In these absurd actions water is treated less like a natural element and more like a full-fledged aspect design element for the implementation of his imaginative ideas.

FABRIZIO PLESSI (born 1940 in Reggio Emilia, Italy) lives and works in Venice. Plessi has been repeatedly invited to the Venice Biennale. In 1970, he first took part in the Venice Biennale and in 1987, he also presented his monumental installation Roma at the Documenta 8. Over the last 40 years, he has created outstanding work that has been shown worldwide in important museums and institutions. Since 1977 these include, among others, the Guggenheim Museum SoHo in New York, the Center Georges Pompidou in Paris, the Fondazione Peggy Guggenheim in Venice, Folkwang Museum in Essen, Museo Guggenheim in Bilbao, Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona, Museum Ludwig in Cologne, Fondazione Mudima in Milan, Kunsthalle Recklinghausen in Recklinghausen, and Fondaco dei Tedeschi in Venice. Additionally, Fabrizio Plessi designed stage designs for the operas The Fall of Icarus (1989) and Ex Machina (1994), a concert by Luciano Pavarotti in New York's Central Park, and Mauro Bigonzetti's ballet Romeo and Juliet.

Videos

© Christoph Münstermann & Stephan Gerz, pixelcover

Publications

Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia liquida

Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia liquida

  • Artist: Fabrizio Plessi
    Editor: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: David Galloway, Marco Meneguzzo
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Antonia Eggeling)
  • German, English, Italy
    Hardcover, 24 x 28 cm
    112 pages, 122 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2017
    ISBN 978-3-94606310-0
  • 28,00 €
Order More

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia Liquida

Internationaler Pionier der Videokunst in Düsseldorf

Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art präsentiert zum Duesseldorf Photo Weekend 2017 erstmalig das Werk des internationalen Pionier der Videokunst Fabrizio Plessi. Die Ausstellung »Utopia liquida« gewährt mit ausgewählten Fotografien aus den 1970er Jahren einen Einblick in Plessis frühe Schaffensphase, in der er bereits begann das Wasser zum Hauptthema seiner Kunst zu entwickeln.

In seinen zahlreichen Aktionen, zur damals hoch aktuellen Aktions- und Konzeptkunst, wird seine Faszination für das Urelement – basierend auf der allgegenwärtigen Präsenz des Wassers in seiner Wahlheimat Venedig – zur Quelle der Inspiration. Die gezeigten Fotografien, die zum Teil bereits 1978 auf der Biennale von Venedig zu sehen waren, dokumentieren und reflektieren seine Aktionen. Etwa wie Plessi mit einer Schere einen Wasserstrahl im Waschbecken in 100 gleiche Stücke durchtrennte (100 Pezzi D‘Acqua, Azione 1973), in Paris mit einem großen Nagel ein Loch in die Seine zu schlagen versuchte (Un Buco N‘ell Acqua, Azione 1973) oder den Stichter See bei Neuenkirchen in zwei gleiche Teile zersägte (Segare il Lago Stichter in due parti uguali, Azione 1975). Absurde Handlungen in denen das Wasser weniger als Naturelement sondern vielmehr als vollwertiges Gestaltungselement behandelt wird für die Umsetzung seiner einfallsreichen Ideen.

FABRIZIO PLESSI (*1940 in Reggio Emilia, Italien) lebt und arbeitet in Venedig. Plessi wurde mehrfach zur Biennale von Venedig geladen. 1970 nahm er erstmals an der Biennale von Venedig teil sowie 1987, mit der Präsentation seiner monumentalen Installation Roma, an der Documenta 8. In den letzten 40 Jahren hat er ein herausragendes Werk geschaffen, das seit 1977 weltweit in bedeutenden Museen und Institutionen gezeigt wird: u.a. Guggenheim Museum SoHo (New York), Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), Fondazione Peggy Guggenheim(Venedig), Folkwang Mus...

In seinen zahlreichen Aktionen, zur damals hoch aktuellen Aktions- und Konzeptkunst, wird seine Faszination für das Urelement – basierend auf der allgegenwärtigen Präsenz des Wassers in seiner Wahlheimat Venedig – zur Quelle der Inspiration. Die gezeigten Fotografien, die zum Teil bereits 1978 auf der Biennale von Venedig zu sehen waren, dokumentieren und reflektieren seine Aktionen. Etwa wie Plessi mit einer Schere einen Wasserstrahl im Waschbecken in 100 gleiche Stücke durchtrennte (100 Pezzi D‘Acqua, Azione 1973), in Paris mit einem großen Nagel ein Loch in die Seine zu schlagen versuchte (Un Buco N‘ell Acqua, Azione 1973) oder den Stichter See bei Neuenkirchen in zwei gleiche Teile zersägte (Segare il Lago Stichter in due parti uguali, Azione 1975). Absurde Handlungen in denen das Wasser weniger als Naturelement sondern vielmehr als vollwertiges Gestaltungselement behandelt wird für die Umsetzung seiner einfallsreichen Ideen.

FABRIZIO PLESSI (*1940 in Reggio Emilia, Italien) lebt und arbeitet in Venedig. Plessi wurde mehrfach zur Biennale von Venedig geladen. 1970 nahm er erstmals an der Biennale von Venedig teil sowie 1987, mit der Präsentation seiner monumentalen Installation Roma, an der Documenta 8. In den letzten 40 Jahren hat er ein herausragendes Werk geschaffen, das seit 1977 weltweit in bedeutenden Museen und Institutionen gezeigt wird: u.a. Guggenheim Museum SoHo (New York), Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), Fondazione Peggy Guggenheim (Venedig), Folkwang Museum (Essen), Museo Guggenheim (Bilbao), Fundació Joan Miró (Barcelona), Museum Ludwig (Köln), Fondazione Mudima (Mailand), Kunsthalle Recklinghausen, Fondaco dei Tedeschi (Venedig). Ausserdem hat Fabrizio Plessi Bühnenentwürfe etwa zu den Opern The Fall of Icarus (1989) und Ex machina (1994), zu einem Konzert von Luciano Pavarotti im New Yorker Central Park und Mauro Bigonzettis Ballett Romeo und Julia gestaltet.

Videos

Fabrizio Plessi | Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art

© Christoph Münstermann & Stephan Gerz, pixelcover

Publikationen

Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia liquida

Fabrizio Plessi. Utopia liquida

  • Künstler: Fabrizio Plessi
    Herausgeber: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: David Galloway, Marco Meneguzzo
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Antonia Eggeling)
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch
    Hardcover, 24 x 28 cm
    112 Seiten, 122 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2017
    ISBN 978-3-94606310-0
  • 28,00 €
Bestellen Mehr

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956