NT_16_IA_01.jpg

Life and Work

Norbert Tadeusz © Michael Dannenmann

Norbert Tadeusz is undoubtedly one of the most important German painters of the post-war period, even though his decision for and his adherence to figurative painting did not always garner him the attention he deserved in contemporary art discourse. In cooperation with Norbert Tadeusz’ Estate, Galerie Beck & Eggeling seeks not only to she new light on the famous work groups of the »Cavalli«, the slaughterhouse paintings, and the nudes, but also on less well-known creative phases, thus reviving the discussion about this important position in German painting.

In 1961, Norbert Tadeusz, who was 21 at the time, transferred from the Werkkunstschule in his hometown of Dortmund to the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, which was poised to become the (at least temporary) centre of the avant-garde in (West) Germany. At that time, the protagonists of the German Informel led the painting classes, while the ZERO group had been rethinking art from scratch and was starting to achieve its first international successes. It was also the time when the greatest German »new thinker«, Joseph Beuys, transformed the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf into his own stage. Tadeusz finally ended up in his sculpture class after stints in the classes of Gerhard Hoehme and Joseph Fassbender, where he was unnerved by the dogma of abstraction and briefly toyed with the idea of becoming a sculptor.

During this time, Norbert Tadeusz decided to commit himself to naturalistic figurative painting. His fellow students (Polke, Richter, Palermo, etc.) would derisively ask whether he thought at all or only painted, while his professor’s expanded concept of art and its related discourses would only accommodate painting as a medium for conceptual approaches, or at best for socio-political commentary. To these remarks, he defiantly and confidently responded »I’m not an artist, I’m a painter«. In this sense, his art is always one thing above all others: a celebration of painting itself.
Norbert Tadeusz admired the old masters, especially artists of the Italian Renaissance. He also admired the grandmasters of modernism and also a handful of contemporaries. He never shied away from referring to these role models – sometimes more, sometimes less obviously – in his own works. On the contrary, his work is founded on a profound examination of art history. Not as an epigone, but as a craftsman who skillfully took advantage of and continued the traditional techniques and achievements of art history. Figure, space, perspective, color, light, and shadow – the parameters of our visible reality were also the parameters of his artistic work, which he explored anew with each new picture.

For him, composition always came first, only then did the subject follow. Spaces, bodies, things, even everyday trivialities – a pair of shoes under the bed, the reflection of light on the wall: everything in his pictures could become a visual sensation. Norbert Tadeusz knew about the magic of painting. And he knew that painting does not have to be reinvented, squeezed into concepts or discourses in order to astonish, inspire reflection, and touch its audience.

Norbert Tadeusz (1940–2011) was born in Dortmund and studied from 1961 to 1966 at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf with Gerhard Hoehme, Joseph Fassbender, and Joseph Beuys. His first institutional solo exhibition was held in 1970 at the Kunstmuseum Düsseldorf at the Ehrenhof and numerous solo exhibitions followed in German institutions. In 1982 he participated in the Venice Biennale and later exhibited throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States. Since 1992 the Museum Insel Hombroich has been home to the Tadeusz Pavilion, which was especially built for the presentation of his monumental paintings. In addition to his artistic activities, he was professor at the art academies in Münster, Karlsruhe, Berlin, and Braunschweig. Norbert Tadeusz died on 11 July 2011 in his studio in Düsseldorf. Most recently, his work has been exhibited at the ESMoA (in collaboration with the Los Angeles County Museum of Art), El Segundo, USA, and the Faurschou Foundation in Hong Kong, China.

Biography

1940 born in Dortmund, DE
1960/61 School of Arts and Crafts, class for painting of Gustav Deppe, Dortmund, DE
1961 – 1966 Studies at Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, DE, classes of professors Gerhard Hoehme, Joseph Fassbender and Joseph Beuys (master class)
1973 – 1981 Associate professor at Staatliche Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, Abteilung Münster, DE
1981 – 1988 Professor Chair at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, Department Münster, DE
1988 Guest-professorship at Staatliche Akademie der Bildenen Künste Karlsruhe, DE
1988 – 1991 Professor Chair at Hochschule der Künste Berlin, Berlin, DE
1991 – 2005 Professor Chair at Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig, Braunschweig, DE
11 July 2011 Norbert Tadeusz dies in his studio in Dusseldorf, DE

Prizes and Awards

1983 Villa-Romana-Preis, Aufenthalt in Florenz, IT

Works (Selection)

Norbert Tadeusz, untitled, circa 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, untitled, circa 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, untitled, 1997
Norbert Tadeusz, untitled, 1997
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T. (Testa), 1990
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T. (Testa), 1990
Norbert Tadeusz, Christine (2), 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Christine (2), 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Amaryllis, 2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Staubsauger, 1977
Norbert Tadeusz, Schnüre quer, 1979, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, o.T. II (Rotes Tuch), 1993
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa Fenster, 2001
Norbert Tadeusz, Chinesisch, 2005
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa I (Akt lila), 2008, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa IV, 2009
Norbert Tadeusz, Cavalli (2), 1997, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Untitled, 1979
Norbert Tadeusz, untitled, 1979

Solo exhibitions (selection)

1966 Norbert Tadeusz, Galerie Gunar, Dusseldorf, DE

Group exhibitions (selection)

1966 Deutscher Kunstpreis der Jugend, Städtische Kunstgalerie, Bochum, DE

EXHIBITIONS AT BECK & EGGELING (SELECTION)

Publications

Norbert Tadeusz. Olé

Norbert Tadeusz. Olé

  • Artist: Norbert Tadeusz
    Editor: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: Reinhard Spieler
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Martina Löhle)
  • English, German
    Hardcover
    84 pages, 51 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2016
    ISBN 978-3-94606308-7
  • 28 €
Order More
BE Highlights 2020

BE Highlights 2020

  • Artists: Magdalena Abakanowicz, Aljoscha, Herbert Beck, Gehard Demetz, Bertozzi & Casoni, Joachim Brohm, Marc Chagall, Heribert C. Ottersbach, Kwang Young Chun, Lucien Clergue, Piero Dorazio, Gerhard Hoehme, Anselm Kiefer, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Heinz Mack, August Macke, Fausto Melotti, Giorgio Morandi, Edvard Munch, Emil Nolde, Pablo Picasso, Fabrizio Plessi, Rudolf Polanszky, Chris Reinecke, Gerhard Richter, Norbert Tadeusz, Manolo Valdés
    Editor: Michael Beck, Ute Eggeling
    Text: Aljoscha, Michael Beck, Jil Campisi, Ute Eggeling, Andrea Knop, Andrea Krause, Kirsten Nordahl, Katja Ott, Heribert C. Ottersbach, Sebastian Schemann, Miriam Walgate
    Design: Antonia Eggeling
  • English, German
    Softcover, 25 x 21 cm
    120 pages, 92 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2020
    ISBN 978-3-94606324-7
  • 20 €
Order More
Further publications

bibliography

Aktuelle Publikationen | recent publications
Das Geheimnis der Dinge – Malstücke, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck & Hans-Jürgen Schwalm (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf, Kunsthalle Recklinghausen), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2018
Strange Beauty, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling & Michael Beck (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2017
Norbert Tadeusz: Olé, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling & Michael Beck (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2016
MEAT. Christian Lemmerz & Norbert Tadeusz, hg. von | ed. by Kristian Eley & Cecilia Pedersen (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Faurschou Foundation Beijing), Faurschou Foundation Copenhagen, Kopenhagen 2016
STUDIO: Works by Norbert Tadeusz, hg. von | ed. by artlab21 foundation, mit Texten von | with texts by Nana Bahlmann & Michael Govan (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. ESMoA in collaboration with Los Angeles County Museum of Art, El Segundo), DAAB MEDIA, Köln 2015

News

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

NT_16_IA_01.jpg

Leben und Werk

Norbert Tadeusz © Michael Dannenmann

Norbert Tadeusz gehört zweifelsohne zu den wichtigsten deutschen Malern der Nachkriegszeit, auch wenn seine Entscheidung für und sein Festhalten an der figurativen Malerei im Diskurs der zeitgenössischen Kunst ihm nicht immer die Aufmerksamkeit verschaffte, die er verdiente. Der Galerie Beck & Eggeling ist es in der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Estate Norbert Tadeusz ein Anliegen, neben den berühmten Werkgruppen der »Cavalli«, der Schlachthausbilder oder der Akte auch unbekanntere Schaffensphasen neu zu beleuchten und damit die Diskussion um diese so wichtige Position der deutschen Malerei neu zu beleben.

Der damals 21-jährige Norbert Tadeusz wechselte 1961 von der Werkkunstschule in seiner Heimatstadt Dortmund an die Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, das sich gerade anschickte, zum (zumindest zeitweiligen) Zentrum der Avantgarde in (West-)Deutschland zu avancieren. Zu dieser Zeit, leiteten die Protagonisten des deutschen Informel die Malereiklassen. Zu dieser Zeit erdachte die Gruppe ZERO die Kunst vom Nullpunkt aus neu und feierte erste internationale Erfolge. Zu dieser Zeit betrat auch der größte deutsche 'Neudenker', Joseph Beuys, die Bühne, zu der er die Düsseldorfer Akademie bald für sich machen würde. In dessen Klasse für Bildhauerei landet Tadeusz nach Versuchen in den Klassen von Gerhard Hoehme und Joseph Fassbender schließlich, entnervt vom Dogma der Abstraktion, schließlich (kurzzeitig tatsächlich mit dem Gedanken spielend, Bildhauer zu werden).
In dieser Zeit also entscheidet sich Norbert Tadeusz für die gegenständliche, realistische Malerei. Den spöttelnden Kommentaren seiner Kommilitonen (Polke, Richter, Palermo u.a.), ob er denn schon nachdenke oder immer noch male, dem erweiterten Kunstbegriff seines Professors, allen folgenden Diskursen und Strömungen, die die figurative Malerei – wenn überhaupt – nur als Medium konzeptueller Ansätze oder bestenfalls noch gesellschaftspolitischer Stellungnahmen gelten ließen, entgegnete er trotzig-selbstbewusst mit dem Spruch »Ich bin kein Künstler, ich bin Maler.« In diesem Sinne ist seine Kunst immer auch eines: eine Feier der Malerei selbst.
Norbert Tadeusz bewunderte die alten Meister, besonders die italienischen Renaissancekünstler, er bewunderte die Großmeister der Moderne und auch eine handvoll Zeitgenossen. Er hat sich nie gescheut, auf diese Vorbilder – mal mehr, mal weniger offensichtlich – in den eigenen Werken zu verweisen, im Gegenteil: in der profunden Auseinandersetzung mit der Kunstgeschichte gründete er sein Werk. Nicht als Epigone, sondern als Handwerker, der die tradierten Techniken und Errungenschaften der Kunstgeschichte geschickt für sich nutzte und weiterführte. Figur und Raum, Perspektive, Farbe, Licht und Schatten – die Parameter unserer sichtbaren Wirklichkeit waren auch die Parameter seiner künstlerischen Arbeit, die er mit jedem neuen Bild aufs neue auslotete.
Die Komposition stand für ihn stets an erster Stelle, erst dann folgte das Sujet. Räume, Körper, Dinge, selbst alltägliche Nebensächlichkeit – ein paar Schuhe unter dem Bett, ein Lichtreflex an der Wand: in seinen Bildern konnte alles zur visuellen Sensation geraten. Norbert Tadeusz wusste um den Zauber der Malerei. Und er wusste, dass die Malerei nicht neu erfunden, in Konzepte oder Diskurse eingezwängt werden muss, um zu erstaunen, zum Nachdenken anzuregen und zu berühren.

Norbert Tadeusz (1940-2011) wurde in Dortmund geboren und studierte von 1961 bis 1966 an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie bei Gerhard Hoehme, Joseph Fassbender und Joseph Beuys. Die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung fand 1970 im Kunstmuseum Düsseldorf im Ehrenhof statt und es folgten zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen in deutschen Institutionen. 1982 nahm er an der Biennale in Venedig teil und stellte später in Europa, Asien und den Vereinigten Staaten aus. Auf der Museum Insel Hombroich befindet sich seit 1992 der Tadeusz-Pavillon, der speziell zur Präsentation seiner Monumentalgemälde errichtet wurde. Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit war er Professor an den Kunsthochschulen in Münster, Karlsruhe, Berlin und Braunschweig. Norbert Tadeusz starb am 11. Juli 2011 in seinem Atelier in Düsseldorf. Zuletzt fanden viel beachtete Ausstellungen seiner Arbeiten im ESMoA (in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Los Angeles County Museum of Art), El Segundo, USA, und der Faurschou Foundation in Hong Kong, China, statt.

Biografie

1940 geboren in Dortmund, DE
1960/61 Studium der Freien Malerei bei Gustav Deppe an der Werkkunstschule Dortmund, DE
1961 – 1966 Studium bei Gerhard Hoehme, Joseph Fassbender und Joseph Beuys (Meisterschüler) an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, DE
1973 – 1981 Dozent an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, Abteilung Münster, DE
1981 – 1988 Professor an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, Abteilung Münster, DE
1988 Gastprofessor an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe, DE
1988 – 1991 Professor an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin, DE
1991 – 2005 Professor an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig, DE
11. Juli 2011 Norbert Tadeusz stirbt in seinem Atelier in Düsseldorf, DE

Preise und Auszeichnungen

1983 Villa-Romana-Preis, Aufenthalt in Florenz, IT

Werke (Auswahl)

Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., um 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., um 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., 1997
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., 1997
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T. (Testa), 1990
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T. (Testa), 1990
Norbert Tadeusz, Christine (2), 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Christine (2), 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Amaryllis, 2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Staubsauger, 1977
Norbert Tadeusz, Schnüre quer, 1979, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, o.T. II (Rotes Tuch), 1993
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa Fenster, 2001
Norbert Tadeusz, Chinesisch, 2005
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa I (Akt lila), 2008, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, Testa IV, 2009
Norbert Tadeusz, Cavalli (2), 1997, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., 1979
Norbert Tadeusz, o. T., 1979

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl)

1966 Norbert Tadeusz, Galerie Gunar, Düsseldorf, DE

Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl)

1966 Deutscher Kunstpreis der Jugend, Städtische Kunstgalerie, Bochum, DE

AUSSTELLUNGEN BEI BECK & EGGELING (AUSWAHL)

Publikationen

Norbert Tadeusz. Olé

Norbert Tadeusz. Olé

  • Künstler: Norbert Tadeusz
    Herausgeber: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
    Text: Reinhard Spieler
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Martina Löhle)
  • Englisch, Deutsch
    Hardcover
    84 Seiten, 51 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2016
    ISBN 978-3-94606308-7
  • 28 €
Bestellen Mehr
BE Highlights 2020

BE Highlights 2020

  • Künstler:innen: Magdalena Abakanowicz, Aljoscha, Herbert Beck, Gehard Demetz, Bertozzi & Casoni, Joachim Brohm, Marc Chagall, Heribert C. Ottersbach, Kwang Young Chun, Lucien Clergue, Piero Dorazio, Gerhard Hoehme, Anselm Kiefer, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Heinz Mack, August Macke, Fausto Melotti, Giorgio Morandi, Edvard Munch, Emil Nolde, Pablo Picasso, Fabrizio Plessi, Rudolf Polanszky, Chris Reinecke, Gerhard Richter, Norbert Tadeusz, Manolo Valdés
    Herausgeber: Michael Beck, Ute Eggeling
    Text: Aljoscha, Michael Beck, Jil Campisi, Ute Eggeling, Andrea Knop, Andrea Krause, Kirsten Nordahl, Katja Ott, Heribert C. Ottersbach, Sebastian Schemann, Miriam Walgate
    Design: Antonia Eggeling
  • Englisch, Deutsch
    Softcover, 25 x 21 cm
    120 Seiten, 92 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2020
    ISBN 978-3-94606324-7
  • 20 €
Bestellen Mehr
Weitere Publikationen

Bibliografie

Aktuelle Publikationen | recent publications
Das Geheimnis der Dinge – Malstücke, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck & Hans-Jürgen Schwalm (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf, Kunsthalle Recklinghausen), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2018
Strange Beauty, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling & Michael Beck (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2017
Norbert Tadeusz: Olé, hg. von | ed. by Ute Eggeling & Michael Beck (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Beck & Eggeling International Fine Art Düsseldorf), Beck und Eggeling Kunstverlag, Düsseldorf 2016
MEAT. Christian Lemmerz & Norbert Tadeusz, hg. von | ed. by Kristian Eley & Cecilia Pedersen (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. Faurschou Foundation Beijing), Faurschou Foundation Copenhagen, Kopenhagen 2016
STUDIO: Works by Norbert Tadeusz, hg. von | ed. by artlab21 foundation, mit Texten von | with texts by Nana Bahlmann & Michael Govan (Ausst.-Kat | exhib.-cat. ESMoA in collaboration with Los Angeles County Museum of Art, El Segundo), DAAB MEDIA, Köln 2015

News

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956