Leiko Ikemura. No No Noh

Leiko Ikemura. No No Noh Leiko Ikemura in dialog with selected works by Walter Pichler from the Diethard Leopold Collection.

This publication was released to mark the first exhibition by Leiko Ikemura at Beck & Eggeling in Vienna. Under the title Noh Noh Noh, she combines selected works by the artist with works by Walter Pichler from the Diethard Leopold collection. This publication documents this extraordinary and fascinating encounter.

Leiko Ikemura not only works in Europe, but all over the world, though her work originated exclusively in the West, in Europe. However, she gains a special voice through the presence of the Asian cultural space of her homeland; she involves Japanese items in our art world, as it were. At her request, in the exhibition her works entered into a dialog with the great Austrian artist Walter Pichler. A thoroughly inspiring first contact, through which it becomes clear: phenomena of cultural transfer, the artistic exchange between different geographical and cultural spaces, between different languages of art and artistic mentalities have long interested Leiko Ikemura, in fact, since her artistic beginnings, which lie in the seventies. An immensely rich and thoroughly coherent oeuvre has since emerged.

The Noh mask, which the artist has placed as the opening act, and the title Noh Noh Noh make it clear: Japan is there – doubly affirmed and thereby negated. The mask shows its concave reverse, so that it gives an insight into what is otherwise out of sight. The Noh mask, which, like the Pichler drawings, is also borrowed from the Diethard Leopold collection, opens up the perception for Ikemura’s other vision that materializes in her sculptural figurations.



Artists: Leiko Ikemura, Walter Pichler
Editor: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
Text: Pia Müller-Tamm, Diethard Leopold
Design: Beck & Eggeling (Martina Löhle)


English, German
Softcover, 26 x 23 cm
78 pages


A look into the book

Associated exhibition

Leiko Ikemura. NO NO NOH

Leiko Ikemura. NO NO NOH

Vienna / 18 May – 26 August 2017

More

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

Leiko Ikemura. No No Noh

Leiko Ikemura. No No Noh. Leiko Ikemura im Dialog mit ausgewählten Werken von Walter Pichler aus der Sammlung Diethard Leopold / Leiko Ikemura in a Dialog with Selected Works by Walter Pichler from the Diethard Leopold Collection


Die vorliegende Publikation erschien anlässlich der ersten Ausstellung von Leiko Ikemura bei Beck & Eggeling in Wien. Unter dem Titel »Noh Noh Noh« vereint sie ausgewählte Werke der Künstlerin mit Arbeiten von Walter Pichler aus der Sammlung Diethard Leopold. Die vorliegende Publikation dokumentiert diese außergewöhnliche und faszinierende Begegnung.

Leiko Ikemura ist nicht nur in Europa, sondern weltweit tätig. Doch ihr Werk ist ausschließlich im Westen, in Europa entstanden. Ihre besondere Stimme gewinnt sie jedoch durch die Gegenwart des asiatischen Kulturraums ihrer Heimat; sie spielt Japanisches gleichsam in unsere Kunstwelt hinein. Auf ihren Wunsch traten in der Ausstellung ihre Werke in einen Dialog mit dem großen österreichischen Künstler Walter Pichler. Eine überaus inspirierende Kontaktaufnahme, mit der deutlich wird: Phänomene des kulturellen Transfers, des künstlerischen Austauschs zwischen unterschiedlichen geografischen und kulturellen Räumen, zwischen verschiedenen Sprachen der Kunst und künstlerischen Mentalitäten interessieren Leiko Ikemura schon lange, eigentlich schon seit ihren künstlerischen Anfängen, die in den siebziger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts liegen. Ein immens reiches und in sich überaus stimmiges Werk ist seither entstanden.

Die Noh-Maske, die die Künstlerin als Auftakt gesetzt hat, und der Titel »Noh Noh Noh« verdeutlichen: Japan ist da – doppelt bejaht und damit verneint. Die Maske zeigt ihre konkave Rückseite, sie gibt also Einblick in das, was den Blicken sonst entzogen ist. Die Noh-Maske, wie die Pichler-Zeichnungen auch eine Leihgabe aus der Sammlung Diethard Leopold, öffnet die Wahrnehmung für den anderen Blick Ikemuras, der sich in ihren plastischen Figurationen materialisiert.



Künstler:innen: Leiko Ikemura, Walter Pichler
Herausgeber: Ute Eggeling, Michael Beck
Text: Pia Müller-Tamm, Diethard Leopold
Design: Beck & Eggeling (Martina Löhle)


Englisch, Deutsch
Softcover, 26 x 23 cm
78 Seiten


Ein Blick in das Buch

Dazugehörige Ausstellung

Leiko Ikemura. NO NO NOH

Leiko Ikemura. NO NO NOH

Wien / 18. Mai – 26. August 2017

Ikemura möchte ihre eigenen Arbeiten der europäischen Kunst gegenüberstellen und beleuchtet mit »no no noh« die Frage nach der Gleichberechtigung der Kulturen in der Kunst. Mit ihrem Werkhinterf...

Mehr

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956